Nick Zinner's "41 Strings"

July 27, 2019

One night only! Visit the plaza on Saturday, July 27 at 7pm to witness this one-time public performance of the lauded sympthony, "41 Strings." Composed by Yeah Yeah Yeah’s guitarist, Nick Zinner, the four-part piece is about transitions and reflects the change of the seasons: Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer. A star-studded list of New York-based musicians will join Zinner for the performance.


  • Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs)
  • Paul Banks (Interpol)
  • Lenny Kaye (Patti Smith band)
  • Angel Deradoorian (previously of Dirty Projectors)
  • Andrew Wyatt (Miike Snow, producer/songwriter with Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Liam Gallagher)
  • Sarah Lipstate (Noveller)
  • Ava Mendoza (Unnatural Ways)
  • Aku Orraca-Tetteh (Florence and the Machine)



  • Brian Chase (Yeah Yeah Yeahs)
  • Ryan Sawyer (Gang Gang Dance)
  • Hisham Bharoocha (Lightning Bolt, Black Dice)



  • Andy Macleod
  • Jaleel Bunton (TV on the Radio)



  • Ben Vida
  • Nancy Whang (LCD Soundsystem)



  • Gillian Rivers, arranger
  • 35 classical string ensemble


41 Strings was created in 2011 by artist and musician Nick Zinner and creative producer Berrin Noorata, to honor the 41st anniversary of Earth Day.  Since its first performance in New York, 41 Strings has been celebrated and performed across the world in London at Meltdown Festival and in Sydney at the Sydney Opera House.